Mill Autoquip

Lewis Hamilton Wins F1 Championship with NGK

NGK Spark Plugs (UK) Ltd

December, 2014


NGK Spark Plugs (UK) Ltd has helped MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS driver Lewis Hamilton claim his second Formula One World Drivers’ Championship.

The company supplied the MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS Formula One Team with its racing spark plugs for the 2014 season and was delighted when the 29-year-old powered to victory at the final Grand Prix of the season.

Hamilton produced a faultless performance in Abu Dhabi to claim his 11th win of the season and with it the 2014 FIA Formula One World Drivers’ Championship*.

Hamilton – previously champion in 2008 – made the perfect start to grab the lead from pole-sitting team-mate Nico Rosberg, giving him the platform to control the race from the front.

Rosberg’s car began to slow later in the race as he lost ERS power and he eventually finished 14th.

After the race, Hamilton said: “I can’t really explain how much this means. It means even more than the first one. It feels like it’s the first time. I feel so blessed.”

Marko Wowczyna, Automotive Director, NGK Spark Plugs (UK) Ltd, said: “We are proud to have helped Lewis add the Drivers’ Championship to the team’s Constructors’ title. It has been a thrilling season as Lewis and Nico have fought head-to-head for the title.

“This is another successful chapter in NGK’s long and illustrious involvement in F1 and many of our customers have followed the championship race-by-race culminating in the season’s exciting finale.”


Hamilton took the championship with 384 points with Rosberg finishing in second place on 317 points. The MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS Formula One Team ended the season on 701 points, having achieved a record 16 wins, 18 pole positions, 12 fastest laps and 31 podium finishes. The team achieved 11 one-two wins to beat the record set by McLaren in 1988.


For more information about NGK Spark Plugs (UK) Ltd and its products and services, please visit the website at  Also you can check out its latest blogzine at

*Subject to official confirmation by the FIA of the results of the 2014 FIA Formula One World Championship